6 Jun 2018

State of Origin 2018 Supporter Guide

Let the games begin! The State of Origin series isn't referred to as the greatest rivalry in Australian sports for nothing. This pinnacle of rugby league is unmissable and undeniably entertaining. This essential supporter's guide gives you the low down on the 2018 Origin Series, whether you support the NSW Blues or the QLD Maroons, including:

  • Dates and locations of all three games 
  • Team selections for game one
  • Origin history and stats

2018 State of Origin Series Dates & Locations 

Regardless of which team you cheer for, making sure you know where you're headed or where and when each State of Origin game is being played is essential!

State of Origin 2018 Games

  • Game 1: 6 June 2018, 8pm AEST, at the Melbourne Cricket Ground
  • Game 2: 24 June 2018, 8pm AEST, at ANZ Stadium in Sydney
  • Game 3: 11 July 2018, 8pm AEST, at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane

Clear your schedules on those three evenings, this Origin series is set to be one of the biggest yet!  

2018 Origin Team Selections

Game 1 is off to a great start with a diverse group of players selected in each team, especially New South Wales who are fielding a much younger, inexperienced Origin side.

New South Wales Blues Team

NSW Backs

James Tedesco (1 Fullback), Tom Trbojevic (2 Winger), Latrell Mitchell (3 Centre), James Roberts (4 Centre), Josh Addo-Carr (5 Winger), James Maloney (6 Five-Eighth), Nathan Cleary (7 Halfback)

NSW Forwards

David Klemmer (8 Prop), Damien Cook (9 Hooker), Reagan Campbell-Gillard (10 Prop), Boyd Cordner (11 2nd Row), Tyson Frizell (12 2nd Row), Jack De Belin (13 Lock)

NSW Interchange

Paul Vaughan (14 Interchange), Jake Trbojevic (15 Interchange), Angus Crichton (16 Interchange), Tyrone Peachey (17 Interchange), Reserves- Tariq Sims (18 Reserve) and Nick Cotric (19 Reserve). 

Queensland Maroons Team

QLD Backs

Michael Morgan (14 Fullback), Valentine Holmes (2 Winger), Greg Inglis (3 Centre), Will Chambers (4 Centre), Dane Gagai (5 Winger), Cameron Munster (6 Five-Eighth), Ben Hunt (7 Halfback)

QLD Forwards

Dylan Napa (8 Prop), Andrew McCullough (9 Hooker), Jarrod Wallace (10 Prop), Gavin Cooper (11 2nd Row), Felise Kaufusi (12 2nd Row), Josh McGuire (13 Lock)


Josh Papalii (15 Interchange), Coen Hess (16 Interchange), Jai Arrow (17 Interchange), Anthony Milford (19 Interchange), Reserves- Tim Glasby (18 Reserve), and Kalyn Ponga (20 Reserve).

State of Origin 2018 Guide

State of Origin Series Recent History

Since its inception, there have been 36 State of Origin series played with New South Wales Blues winning 13 series and the Queensland Maroons winning 21, with just two series ending in a draw.

Since 2006, the Queensland Maroons have dominated, winning every series except 2014.

In 2015, Queensland defeated New South Wales 11-10 during Game 1 in Sydney. New South Wales defeated Queensland 26-18 in Game 2 in Melbourne and in Game 3 Queensland smashed New South Wales 52-6 in Brisbane, winning the series 2-1.

In 2016, Queensland defeated New South Wales 6-4 in Game 1 and won the series with a 26-16 win in the second match. New South Wales ended their series with a win 18-14 in Game 3.

In 2017, New South Wales won Game 1, 28-4 igniting the proclamation of the Blues Dynasty. Queensland won Game 2, 18-16 after changing the configuration of the team and bringing back Billy Slater and Johnathan Thurston, who was eventually responsible for Queensland’s winning goal. Thurston injured his shoulder 30 minutes into the match, essentially disabling him. In Game 3, New South Wales decided to maintain an unchanged lineup for all three games, for the first time since 1996. Queensland crushed the Blues, winning 22-6 in the decider. Johnathan Thurston also ended his career on a high note by raising the Origin Shield with Queensland Captain Cameron Smith, and was then chaired off the ground by his teammates.

These historical, hard-fought Origin matches are the perfect predecessors for what is guaranteed to be a thrilling and compelling State of Origin Series in 2018.

State of Origin Merchandise

A true fan represents their team completely. That's why here at onsport.com.au we offer only official, genuine NRL licensed State of Origin merchandise, so that you can cheer on the Blues or the Maroons in style, whether you're watching from the stadium, the pub or the couch.

Shop online at onsport.com.au and enjoy free shipping Australia-wide on all of your State of Origin supporter gear over $50, including State of Origin jerseys, hoodies, beanies and scarves. Get your Origin gear on this year and go!

Shop NSW Blues Merchandise

Shop QLD Maroons Merchandise

Shop: NSW Blues Merchandise or Queensland Maroons Merchandise